Suppositories burning (Phenergan)

A place to discuss all things treatment-related. Medications, IVs, midlines, PICC lines, NG tubes, sub-q pumps, home health care, etc. Also includes alternative and homeopathic remedies including NAET, vitamins, liver detoxing, and more for active HG and TTC preparation.

Moderators: JennyK, mammaclare, nomore

Suppositories burning (Phenergan)

Postby petsparkle » Oct 15, 2005 5:10 pm

Okay, this is icky. I have never used a suppository before. After another trip to the ER, they gave me Phenergan suppositories instead of the oral version I had been trying to take (and throwing up). So I followed the instructions and it burned so bad! Is this normal? I was in excrutiating pain. I am loathe to try it again, but I need something to work. Has anyone else experienced this? Am I just overreacting?
petsparkle

Postby Atsie » Oct 15, 2005 8:33 pm

I am not sure if it is normal or not, but i had some burning with the gravol ones. Did you put on enough lubrication? Maybe it scratched you up some? You could call the pharmacy, they might know for sure.
Guess now this pg really is a pain the a**! :wink: That was the joke around here with the gravol supp!
Atsie
Forum Moderator

Postby BrandiJK » Oct 15, 2005 8:41 pm

I have read the burning is pretty normal. I didn't get the burning, but they didn't work for me.

Someone posted once they were able to take some vaginally, because she could not handle the burning. Call your doc and see if that is a possibility. Don't know if you have to have different ones for that or not.
The only thing worth stealing is a kiss from a sleeping child.
BrandiJK
Master of HG

Postby petsparkle » Oct 16, 2005 7:31 pm

Well, I tried it again and it was just as bad so I am going to talk to my OB tomorrow (first indoc appointment) and see if they will put me on oral Zofran. They gave me that in my IV and it really seemed to help so fingers crossed.

Thanks for the advice!

Lissa
petsparkle