dreading HG for secong pregnancy

Moms with HG in their 1st trimester.

Moderators: Kate, *Mel*, Natalie, janbabe

dreading HG for secong pregnancy

Postby Ginsyn » Sep 29, 2004 8:18 pm

Here we go again...

Im new to this site, I came across it one night working..(Im a Peds/LDRP nurse).
My first pregnancy with Alex, who will be 3 in December was quite eventful, the N/V started right away, luckily my OBGYN is experienced with HG, and quickly prescribed Zofran, which helped keep things at bay, as long as I woke up regulary to take it, if I missed a dose, I would pay for it..
I also had to keep snacks next to the bed, to keep something regularly in my stomach..I ended up losing 20 pounds until finally the N/V died down around my 5th month..just in time for the Preterm labor to kick in..so i was back in the hospital, for what I think was my 6th admit, not including my numerous ER visits...Once admitted for Preterm I was administered Magnesium Sulfate..and several betamethasone injections over the days..a Fetal Fibrenonectin (sp) test was done an confirmed that I would deliver early...luckily although the contractions never did stop, I never dilated..so I was sent home on strict bed rest with Brethine that I continued to take for the next 2 months until Alex was born at 33 weeks..
he was a healthy weight and ended up fine..

We are now pregnant with our second, Im 6 weeks to date, and have no signs of HG yet..although in the back of my mind I know it will rear its head eventually...
I was wondering at what week did the N/V start for others...

Thanks again to all that host this fabulous site..

KatherineI
Mother of Alex (3) and soon to be baby #2
Ginsyn

Postby teddi » Sep 30, 2004 12:12 am

With my first the HG started @ week 6. With this one (ironically twins, so this defies the usual pattern of multiples and earlier onset of HG) it was about 7 1/2 week. The first week to week and half was more "normal" morning sickness.